Marco Frascari Prize in Architecture 2022

January 25, 2022

A drawing competition for graduate students 

Submission Deadline: February 28, 2022 


This drawing competition is open to graduate or post-graduate students who have completed at least one year of their program. The programs include Master of Architecture (two-year and three-year programs) Master of Architectural Studies, PhD in Architecture, and Graduate Diploma in Architectural Conservation. 


The prize money amounts to $10,000 for first, second, and third places and honourable mentions. 


Dr. David Azrieli endowed the prize in 2013 in memory of Dr. Marco Frascari, who served as director of the Azrieli School of Architecture & Urbanism from 2005 until his death in 2013.  

This year’s competition invites students to use drawings as demonstrations offering clues of micro-stories and narratives in development. Recipients must have demonstrated excellence in the practice of hand-drawing and have developed a critical understanding of the craft and role of drawing in architecture. Submissions may also include hybrid drawing (hand/digital). 


Students must submit one to three drawings developing a narrative across the images, accompanied by a 200-to-500-word description. The work submitted should be part of design research work prepared in fulfillment of a degree, such as studio, thesis, doctoral dissertation, or other. The submission deadline is February 28. 


The materials should be sent to Shane Villeneuve, copying Federica Goffi (;  

Each file name should be organized as follows:  

Last name_first name_student ID_Drawing 1.jpg  

Last name_first name_student ID_Text 1.docx  


Download the CALL for the MARCO FRASCARI PRIZE




The jury will review the entries and meet to deliberate on March 29. They will adjudicate the prizes based on the quality of the submissions in terms of graphic excellence, merit of the idea, and its expression through words and images in relation to the theme of the call. 


The awards will be announced at a public event on March 29 from 12:30 p.m. to 1:00 p.m. 


The first, second, and third prize recipients will each receive respectively $3,000, $2,000, $1,000. In addition, $4,000 will be distributed to between four and eight honourable mention recipients.  

Niall Hobhouse is a collector of architectural drawings and models. He established the Drawing Matter  organization to explore the role of drawing within architecture. He also curates exhibitions and writes about buildings, landscapes, and museums. Hobhouse is a former governor of the London School of Economics and has served on the boards of the Sir John Soane’s Museum and the Canadian Centre for Architecture.


See Eleven Materia Prima Drawings by Marco Frascari featured on the Drawing Matter website.

Suzanne Ewing is a professor of architectural criticism at the University of Edinburgh in Scotland and director of Zone Architects. Her publications include Visual Research Methods in Architecture, co-edited with Igea Troiani (2021); Architecture and Field/ Work (2011)and she is co-editor of the award-winning journal Architecture and Culture. 

John Cook is an adjunct professor at the Azrieli School of Architecture & Urbanism. He co-founded Griffiths Rankin Cook (now GRC Architects) in 1985. Cook has extensive experience in the design of cultural, institutional, commercial, and educational projects. They include heritage projects such as the Tent Room at Rideau Hall and the Donald Gordon Centre at Queen’s University.  

Adriana Ross is an adjunct professor at the Azrieli School of Architecture Urbanism. Her research, teaching, and original work focus on the translation of meaning from past tradition to a contemporary context incorporating social values. Her work on the creation and preservation of ephemeral structures has been published in the international magazine DOMUS. Ross holds first place and honourable mentions from local and international architectural competitions.