Bachelor of Architectural Studies (BAS)

One Degree, Three Specializations

Your choice of one of three majors will allow you to specialize in a particular aspect of the architectural profession.

Carleton’s undergraduate program in architecture is unique in Canada. Students applying to the Bachelor of Architectural Studies (BAS) program choose from among three majors: 1) Design, 2) Urbanism, and 3) Conservation & Sustainability. The three majors follow parallel, but specialized, curricula. 


While each is design-oriented, the majors focus on different aspects and scales of the built environment. All three BAS majors offer Directed Studies Abroad (DSA) opportunities in the third year of studies and include a co-op option. All three majors prepare students to continue on to professional studies in Architecture at the Masters level – or to advanced degrees in related disciplines.


For prospective students: please note that application to the BAS Program is a two-stage process. Initial applications to the university and the  portfolio are due by March 1. Portfolio requirements and topics (which include a succinct biographical curriculum vitae, a short piece of writing, and visual material showing applicant’s work) are updated during the summer for the following year. Each year, the submission deadline for portfolios is on March 1 at 4 p.m. EST and portfolios are submitted via our online submission program named Slideroom.


Prospective students looking to gain skills that would be helpful when putting together their portfolio should check out the Imagine Architecture Summer Program. Gain hands-on experience in creative design thinking.


If you are interested in our Bachelor of Architectural Studies (BAS) Program, click the links below for more information on each of the three majors. 

How to Apply

In addition to submitting a regular application to the University, applicants to the Bachelor of Architectural Studies (BAS) program are required to submit a portfolio.


To learn more about the portfolio requirements, please select the link below. Please note that if you are checking this link after March 1st of a given year, the page may not yet be updated.

CACB Accreditation


“In Canada, the Canadian Architectural Certification Board (CACB) is the sole agency authorized by the Canadian Architectural Licensing Authorities (CALA) to accredit Canadian professional degree programs in architecture for the purposes of architectural licensure.” Source: CACB

CACA may grant a program a six-year, three-year, or two-year term of accreditation, depending on its degree of conformance with established educational standards. In 2017, the CACB granted the Azrieli School of Architecture and Urbanism a full 6-year renewal of accreditation. The School’s next accreditation review will be in 2023. 

Master’s degree programs may consist of a pre-professional undergraduate degree (at Carleton, the 4-year BAS-Design) and a professional graduate degree, which, when earned sequentially, comprise an accredited professional education. However, the pre-professional degree is not, by itself, recognized as an accredited degree.  For more information on CACB accreditation, see CACB Conditions for Accreditation


At the Azrieli School of Architecture, the accredited sequence consists of either of the following: 


• The 4-year BAS-Design degree plus the 2-year MArch curricular sequence or;

• The 4-year BAS-Urbanism or BAS-Conservation & Sustainability degree plus the 3-year MArch curricular sequence; 

• A 4-year honours undergraduate degree other than the BAS plus the 3-year MArch curricular sequence.


CACB Conditions for Accreditation